About Us

The Grand Parent:

The Anglican Youth Fellowship (Nig) is the youth arm in the Church of Nigeria (Anglican communion) with the incumbent National President as Bro. Chukwuebuka Eze. The national arm of the fellowship is made up of diocesan youth councils which in turn is made up of archdeaconry youth councils. Awka diocesan youth council is therefore an arm of the national council and thus, the youth arm of the diocese of Awka Anglican Communion.

Parents and The Parent Arm:

The diocese of Awka however was inaugurated on 8th March 1987 and her first Bishop under whom the Diocesan Youth Council was inaugurated was His Grace, The Most Rev’d M.S.C. Anikwenwa (RTD), the immediate past bishop of Awka, fmr. Archbishop Province of the Niger and fmr. Dean Church of Nigeria Anglican Communion. In 2010, the immediate past bishop handed over to the current bishop of Awka The Rt. Rev Alexander Chibuzor Ibezim PhD.


Since creation and inauguration, the diocesan youth council has birthed other diocesan youth councils. Presently, Awka Diocesan Youth Council has Eleven Archdeaconry Youth Councils and over fifty parishes under it.


Since her inauguration of the council, several persons have been privileged to serve in this organisation among who are now in various leadership positions. Presently one of the pionner leaders is now an Archdeacon in the same diocese whereas some others are found among the clergy. The officers of the councils are about 18 in number with Bro Chuma Achebe as the President and Sister Ngozi Nwoka as the Council Secretary. Other members of the Officer’s councils are listed in the officer’s profile.

For a detailed information about the council, please place an official request.

Share this
Share On Twitter
Share On Linkdin
Contact us